Rear brake cylinder sizing

All things oily!
xkfeng7

Rear brake cylinder sizing

Post by xkfeng7 »

Guys,
All my current braking problems have been traced to seized rear brake cylinders ... both sides.

Now, I know what you are all thinking, " what kind of idiot doesn't check his rear brakes before putting 1000 miles on a 28 year old car?"
Well, you are right. I bled everything but didn't bother checking front/rear bias. I am an idiot!

Anyway, as a temporary fix, I will replace the rear cylinders, and am looking for advice on what size bores to chose. I have a stock lockheed master cylinder and the original Sprite front discs. My old cylinders are 5/8" bore. What I've found in the spridget catalogs are 3/4" and 7/8" bore. Recommendations on sizing appreciated.

It's no wonder stopping distances were not good, front lock-up was so easily achieved, and the car pushed a bit when braking into a corner (trail braking). Jan and I had a couple of long conversations about front/rear bias with dual MC's, etc, but all that may not be necessary once I get the existing system sorted out.

The brakes locked up on my because when I jammed the pedal down for an emergency braking situation, it moved the seized cylinders out just enough to lock up the rears.
Yes, I will replace every single wear item in the braking system over the winter.

John
Westfield 129

Re: Rear brake cylinder sizing

Post by Westfield 129 »

1275 rear cylinders are usually 3/4", at least that's what I have, and the size I used for replacement. This, with the 3/4" master cylinder should fix your rear brake problems.

Usually, one adds a proportioning valve to the rear brakes to limit the pressure to the rear so that the rear brakes don't lock. If the rear brakes have too much authority, you get oversteer, usually the snap variety, which is really hard to catch. also, you will lose directional stability during hard braking.